Pioneer Run, 18 March 2018

16th May 2018


Despite the best efforts of the ‘Mini Beast from the East’ 140 entrants signed on for the 79th SMCC Pioneer Run. However many more entrants were unable travel to the start due to road conditions in their locale and others decided not to. While conditions were poor on Epsom Downs they were much better at the Pease Pottage coffee stop, thus the organisers moved the start to Pease Pottage and riders enjoyed a steady ride to Madeira Drive, Brighton on wet but clear roads.



Lt Col Tiny Ayres Trophy (greatest combined age of rider and machine):-

No 88 Baz Staple, 1913 AJS 350cc, 192 years. Runners up: No 181 Dave Fox, 1914 Douglas 348cc, 190 years; No 56 Jonathan Bewley, 1909 Triumph 500cc, 188 years

Laurie Fenton Trophy (greatest age difference, rider and machine):- No 217 Morgan Thomas, 1912 Alldays & Onions 500cc, 84 years. Runner up: No 125 Sam Bewley, 1912 Rudge Multi 500cc, 84 years

Ladies Trophy:- No 75 Christa G-Lehmann, 1910 Wynn-Minerva 2.25HP

Bob Currie Trophy (most meritorious performance):- Joint winners: No 43 Chris Cook, 1907 Quadrant 453cc and No 295 Chris Cook, 1911 Triumph

The Classic MotorCycle Trophy (best authentic and unrestored machines):- No 319 Nick Jeffries, OK Precision

Dutch Horsepower Team Trophy (open to three rider teams, one from each class with greatest combined age of riders and machines):- Team Bewley: Class 1 – No 4 Philip Bewley, 50 / 1898 Leon Bollee 3HP; class 2 – No 56 Jonathan Bewley, 1909 Trtiumph 500cc and class – 3 No 125 Sam Bewley 1912 Rudge Multi 500cc

The German VTV Trophy (donated by the German VTV Club – best newcomer):- No 31 Frans Van Den Bliek, 1904 Werner

Brian Verrall Trophy (donated by Mrs Margaret Verrall, best there wheeler):- No 237 Geoff Wheeler, 1913 Royal Enfield s/c

Ray Newton Trophy (donated by Mrs Beti Newton, best V-twin):- No 273 Simon Elliott, 1913 Rex-JAP

Wally Lambert Trophy (donated by the Lambert family, best American built machine):- 192 Philip Clarke, 1913 Excelsior

Pioneer Registrars Trophy (donated by Pioneer Registrar John Waghorn):- No 89 Martin Staple, 1912 Rudge-Multi

Rider Achievement Awards for 50 Pioneer Rides

Baz Staple

Rider Achievement Awards for 40 Pioneer Rides

Colin Jenner, John Buckingham and Ewart Baldwin