Sunbeam Motorcycle Club - Welcome

Pinhard Prize


This award is in memory of Fred Pinhard, who founded the Club in 1924 and remained as Club Secretary from 1924 until his death in 1948. The trophy itself was originally “The Motorcycle” Trophy won outright by the Sunbeam MCC in the 1947 MCC Inter Club Team Trial and is substantial in size being over a foot high and two gallon capacity. The Pinhard Prize was first presented in 1950, and 2009 was the 60th year.

The list of previous winners includes many of the best riders since 1950 including John Surtees, several of the Lampkins and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names (see below for all previous winners).

The Pinhard Prize is awarded annually to the young motorcyclist (under 21 years) from an ACU affiliated club, who is adjudged to have made the most meritorious achievement in motorcycle sport in the preceding year. This can be from any discipline and can include organisational prowess. The winner is selected following consideration of all applications by five independent judges.

Pinhard Trophy master list of winners since inception in 1950

Click on winners below to see a full description.

All previous winners (2018 – 1950)